Category: Books,Arts & Photography,Photography & Video

A Way of Life: Zen Monastics at Work and at Play Details

About the Author Thich Nhat Hanh is one of the most revered Zen teachers in the world today. His best-selling books include Be Free Where You Are and How to Love. He lives in Plum Village in southwest France. Nhat Hanh has been teaching the art of mindful living for more than 70 years.Paul Davis is a retired social worker and a documentary photographer who first began photographing Vietnam as a Marine in 1966. A member of the Order of Interbeing, Davis has been a student of Thich Nhat Hanh since 1990. Davis' photos appear regularly in Lion's Roar and The Mindfulness Bell magazines. He leads Being Peace Sangha, a community that practices in the tradition of Thich Nhat Hanh in Cincinnati, Ohio where Paul Davis lives. Read more

Reviews

This coffee table photo book by professional photographer and Thich Nhat Hanh student Paul Davis contains 50 photographs that capture the joy of living in the present experienced by monks and nuns of all ages. Some are in traditional activities, and some are found in the most unexpected. In his foreward, Davis discusses how his own personal tragedy left him searching for a culture in which being present in the moment was key. He was already knowledgeable of the teachings of Thich Nhat Hanh, but went in search of the monks and nuns who followed his words.The photographs are beautiful, catching candid and unguarded beauty in a way I personally have not seen in another photographer's work. I think this would make a great conversational piece on any coffee table.